Quo Vadis is an association of writers who write German-language, historical novels. The author group now has 100 members. On these pages there are author profiles, readings, literary prizes and much more for anyone interested in history who want to get to know authors of historical novels better.

  • Quo Vadis author Lena Falkenhagen receives “DeLiA 2010”
  • 150 novels submitted for Walter Scott Literary Prize
  • 1500€ by charity lectures for the Stadtachiv Köln


In the weblog the members provide their current information.


Readings and events around historical novels clearly arranged in a calendar, which opens in a new window.

SHORTLIST – Sir Walter Scott Prize 2019

The shortlist reflects the great creativity with which the German-speaking authors pick up historical topics. “(Organizers of the SWS Prize 2010)
The four-member jury of the SWS Prize had to cope with no easy task: from more than 160 submitted historical novels the top group was to be determined.

Fifteen works by German-speaking authors have made it to the shortlist this year.

  • To the shortlist – Sir Walter Scott Literature Prize 2019
  • Press release 2019 shortlist as pdf

Quo Vadis author Lena Falkenhagen receives “DeLiA 2010”

We congratulate our member Lena Falkenhagen! Her historical novel Die Lichtermagd received the “DeLiA 2019”. The prize for the best German-language romance novel of the previous year was awarded in Linz / Austria on May 31, 2019.

Over 160 novels submitted for Sir Walter Scott Price

The postman gasps, in the apartment of our colleague, who has taken over the shipment to the jury, stacked thick cardboard boxes. More than 160 novels, each with four copies, must be unpacked, registered, repackaged and sent.

The Sir Walter Scott Prize has long since made a name for itself, but nobody could count on such an appeal. The conditions are not easy to fulfill, only published historical novels as first editions of the last two years, without BOD or self-publishing, were admitted. Apparently, the price in the scene has become an institution.

The heaviest task is now faced by the four jurors, who tirelessly roll through the vast mountain of books to find the three most dazzling pearls.

Your commitment makes the price possible. This year, they will give it special glamor, as the amount of entries reaches a cross section of all current historical novels.

On November 12, 2019, the result will be announced in Karlsruhe Durlach.

1500,00 € – Quo Vadis supports the RESCUE OF THE KÖLNER STADTARCHIVS

With a series of charity readings, Quo Vadis collected donations to help restore the documents and archives salvaged from the rubble of the city’s Historical Archives. Experts estimate that the restoration of the archive will cost 116 million euros in the coming years, a project that can not be financed without donations.

In April 2019, Quo Vadi’s authors held readings at various venues in Germany and waived honors to ensure that all revenue went to the Stiftung Stadtarchiv. We are pleased to be able to transfer 1500, – € to the foundation.

SIR WALTER SCOTT – LITERATURPREIS 2010 Hervorragende historische Romane gesucht

Dieses Jahr lobt der Autorenkreis Historischer Roman „Quo Vadis“ zum dritten Mal den Sir Walter Scott-Literaturpreis aus.

Zur Teilnahme zugelassen sind historische Romane, die zwischen dem 01. 01 2008 und 31. 12 2009 in deutscher Sprache erschienen sind. Die drei ausgezeichneten Autorinnen und Autoren erwartet ein Preisgeld von insgesamt 3500,- €.

Wir freuen uns auf viele hervorragende Romane. Einsendeschluss ist der 31. Mai 2010.

NO LONGER SO CURRENT – THE NEWS OF 2009 Delia Literary Prize – Angelina Bauer wins the 3rd place


The DeLiA 2019 was awarded on 15 May 2019 in Celle. 64 novels from 32 publishers and 3 countries were submitted and examined by an experienced jury (Eva Völler, Kerstin Gier, Iny Lorentz and Eric Maron).

Only 8 came in the final round. Britt Reissmann prevailed with ‘The Dream of Death’ and won the DeLiA.

Second place went to Gabriela Galvani with The Silk Trader,
the third place to our member Angeline Bauer with her historical novel The fool of the king.

Leave a Reply